Fat Secret app scanner is hard to use

previous topic · next topic
KahneFan

Joined: Nov 16
Posts: 8

      quote  
Posted: 22 Dec 2016, 08:30
I've tried cleaning my camera and everything else I can think of, but it takes me 30 - 60 seconds to find the exact perfect lighting for my FS scanner to focus in and actually read bar-codes for some reason.
Follow me on Instagram @ericlivinglean
FatSecret

Joined: Jan 16
Posts: 25

      quote  
Posted: 22 Dec 2016, 18:50
Hi there,

We're not sure why the barcode scanner isn't working for you as we're not aware of an issue. What device are you using?

The FatSecret Team
KahneFan

Joined: Nov 16
Posts: 8

      quote  
Posted: 23 Dec 2016, 09:20
S7 Edge. It's all about the lighting. Sometimes it will click right away, but many times I have to twist/turn to get the lighting just right for the scanner to capture the code. I use a scanner on my lottery app and it clicks right away every time.
Follow me on Instagram @ericlivinglean
KahneFan

Joined: Nov 16
Posts: 8

      quote  
Posted: 28 Dec 2016, 10:00
Looks like I may have just been holding items too close(?). When I hold the items out farther, my camera focuses quicker and grabs the item quicker.
Follow me on Instagram @ericlivinglean
RegisteredUs...

Joined: Feb 10
Posts: 27

      quote  
Posted: 28 Dec 2016, 10:03
I agree - it was far better a couple years ago. It seems it takes forever to grab the code. Galaxy S6 Edge
Pigletius

Joined: Feb 17
Posts: 1

      quote  
Posted: 05 Feb 2017, 11:14
My scanner doesn't work at all. Nexus 5X. I tried all kinds of lightning, distance from camera, different barcodes - doesn't work. As much as I'll miss some functions I have to go back to My Fitness Pal. Their scanner works like a charm.
dele

Joined: Mar 10
Posts: 1

      quote  
Posted: 14 May 2017, 06:13
Same as pigletius -
Joined: Feb 17
Posts: 1

quote send message Posted: 05 Feb 2017, 12:14
My scanner doesn't work at all. Nexus 5X. I tried all kinds of lightning, distance from camera, different barcodes - Fitness Pal scanner works fine. Been waiting for almost a year for this to be fixed. Please fix.
randyclark1

Joined: Aug 17
Posts: 2

      quote  
Posted: 14 Aug 2017, 02:45
Im sure there applications like there similar to camera apps that are useful.



Forum Search
Advanced forum search



Latest Posts

How Do I delete a saved meal?
This should work on web version: go to Favorite Meals, select meal you want to delete, select “Edit”. Once you are in Edit mode, there is “Delete” button at the bottom of the screen.
by Ingria on 22 Apr 18 12:01 PM
Additional graphs
I want to graph my Net calories (intake minus exercise) versus date along with my weight versus date. I can easily create the graph in excel if I can get the data out of FS. The Food Diary has the export ...
by bcdn on 21 Apr 18 08:14 AM
Foods I add to the database don't show up for other users.
I think it's a search issue - you have to put in the exact same wording in order for the right thing to pop up. I tried to get a count for some beans I bought, and when I did a full search, 3 diff ...
by abbadabba on 19 Apr 18 10:31 PM
Activity Level
I just joined yesterday and I entered the wrong activity level but I can't figure out how to change it. I saw this question in the forum but it was a couple years old and it seems like the app may ...
by Streva43 on 19 Apr 18 03:08 PM
Here we go again
Server glitch now fixed, methinks. Still, advanced warning would be much appreciated
by charliemor54 on 18 Apr 18 10:33 AM