How can I edit nutritional information for an item in FS already?

previous topic · next topic
KahneFan

Joined: Nov 16
Posts: 8

      quote  
Posted: 15 Dec 2016, 12:39
I scanned a packaged meal today and the correct item came up, but all the nutritional information is off. It's not off by much, but it's off - I'm guessing the food manufacturer changed their recipe a little? For example, the calories on FS say 360, but the package actually shows 310. (and it's a 1 serving meal). Is there any way I can edit nutritional information on an item already in the system without creating the item all over again?
Follow me on Instagram @ericlivinglean
kmkjmomma

Joined: Jul 12
Posts: 12

      quote  
Posted: 15 Dec 2016, 12:57
When you are on the information for that item, down at the bottom, it should give you an option to edit it...
KahneFan

Joined: Nov 16
Posts: 8

      quote  
Posted: 15 Dec 2016, 14:06
I don't see that in the app, or on the website. At the bottom of the (Android) app, for that product, I see "Other Options: More products (and) Find nearby", no "Edit" option.
Follow me on Instagram @ericlivinglean
Ginsin

Joined: Jan 12
Posts: 26

      quote  
Posted: 15 Dec 2016, 14:17
On the website, when you are looking at the food listed click into it and you will see the full nutrition data....look down and right above the RDI, you will see "Is this information inaccurate or incomplete?
Click here to edit".
KahneFan

Joined: Nov 16
Posts: 8

      quote  
Posted: 15 Dec 2016, 14:19
I'm looking at "Atkins: Frozen Beef Fiesta Taco Bowl" and I do not see that option.
Follow me on Instagram @ericlivinglean
Rckc

Joined: Feb 15
Posts: 247

      quote  
Posted: 15 Dec 2016, 14:29
yes, I noticed the option isn't there on mine anymore either...
Kim
Zeddie274

Joined: Jul 14
Posts: 33

      quote  
Posted: 15 Dec 2016, 15:12
I know I've changed (updated) many of the items in the food database, so this thread caught my interest. I checked a few items, and it appears that items "created" by FS may not be updated; but those created by "members" can be. The Atkins meal was created by FS and there is no link to update it. If you look at something like real mayo by helmans you'll see the link. You may need to create a new entry to correct the data.
Zeddie274

Joined: Jul 14
Posts: 33

      quote  
Posted: 15 Dec 2016, 15:14
Sorry, I should have specified that I'm viewing via a PC not the app.
KahneFan

Joined: Nov 16
Posts: 8

      quote  
Posted: 22 Dec 2016, 08:27
Came across a second item where the nutritional data was all wrong today. It was a Slim Fast Advanced Nutrition shake. All stats were wrong for this item. It was using stats from the regular shake, not the Advanced Nutrition Shake.
Follow me on Instagram @ericlivinglean
MightyFull

Joined: May 09
Posts: 332

      quote  
Posted: 22 Dec 2016, 08:34
Unless things have considerably changed, you will need to create a new food item with the correct information. May need to note in the title.
MightyFull

When the world says, "Give up," Hope whispers, "Try it one more time." ~Author Unknown

"Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother's eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye?" - Matthew 7:3
KahneFan

Joined: Nov 16
Posts: 8

      quote  
Posted: 22 Dec 2016, 08:41
Good call. For me that day, I just used a similar product. But, it's probably better to re-create a correct item for future users. Everything was off. It had half the protein, twice the carbs and somewhere around 9 times the sugar.
Follow me on Instagram @ericlivinglean



Forum Search
Advanced forum search



Latest Posts

How do you link FitBit to this app?
I linked it the first week but now it won't work.
by bluiz443 on 19 Sep 17 07:21 AM
How to track body fat percentage on fatsecret?
I don't think its there. FS has no way to know or estimate your body fat%. It could give your BMI (which as far as I know, it also doesn't do) since that only requires knowing your height and ...
by rhills on 15 Sep 17 04:04 AM
Network time out
also, sorry, how the hell do i change this on my pc in dutch ?
by heksemieke on 13 Sep 17 02:30 PM
Wheat Belly description
I hope I am posting in the correct place. I have read the description for a Wheat Belly woe and it is not correct. And it comes across as very discouraging. Could it be updated? I have been doing this ...
by Airspree on 04 Sep 17 07:48 PM
Adding/ customising a meal/ snack category
Hi There, Is there a way to customise the meal categories. I would love to be able to track my morning tea and afternoon tea separately. Is there a way to add or change the meal types? Thanks!
by sallybaumann on 02 Sep 17 09:35 PM