Scanning Bar Code

previous topic · next topic
debc1246

Joined: Jan 13
Posts: 2

      quote  
Posted: 12 Apr 2013, 15:09
Confused I have downloaded the "Calorie Counter" App onto my Verizon Motorola Droid RAZR M XT907 phone. In the "Calorie Counter" app, I can get to the bar code function and it acts like it is trying to focus and absorb the bar code info but does not complete the function and does not add the information to "My Food". Has anyone else reported having this trouble or am I missing something I am suppose to be doing? Please Help!
Alfred New

Joined: Feb 10
Posts: 1

      quote  
Posted: 23 Jul 2013, 19:13
I am having the same problem.
kkd1125

Joined: Apr 10
Posts: 337

      quote  
Posted: 24 Jul 2013, 15:58
When I have had trouble with the barcode scanner in the past (across both Android and iOS platforms), sometimes I just try the following and it eventually works:

1. moving to where there is much better light
2. making sure there are no wrinkles in the packaging preventing the barcode from being legible
3. try a different angle, perhaps slightly away from you, slightly toward you, side to side, etc. until it reads


If none of the above worked for me, I just enter the food as a "New Food" and enter all of the nutrition information manually.

Hope this helps!



debc1246

Joined: Jan 13
Posts: 2

      quote  
Posted: 25 Jul 2013, 07:06
Thanks for the infoVery Happy
LashawnaF

Joined: Jul 13
Posts: 3

      quote  
Posted: 25 Jul 2013, 09:41
I noticed that the bar code doesn't work on my Droid either. I have been using myfitnesspal as well. The scanner works alot better. I thought that once upon a time the fatsecret app had a a GPS function that would calculate miles walked, but since I have changed phones it dont' see it and can't find an app that will. Any suggestions?
Caroline271

Joined: May 12
Posts: 14

      quote  
Posted: 26 Jul 2013, 16:48
The bar code has given me such bizarre readings that I don't use it. Cheese became yam cake and a quiche some kind of crisps. A good idea but such a waste of time at he moment.
arronlee

Joined: Apr 13
Posts: 10

      quote  
Posted: 13 Sep 2013, 04:30
I have only checked the free trial package of a barcode tool to scan barcode. But I have never employ one. Do you have any recommedations? Thanks in advance.



Forum Search
Advanced forum search



Latest Posts

Remove foods on my list
It's been at least three weeks or more now
by AlephBeta on 31 Jan 15 08:29 PM
Making a pot of soup & finding cals, etc for 10 oz.
Click on MYFATSECRET top tool bar, over to the right will be an are that says MY COMMUNITY in it is MY COOKBOOK. You can enter the complete recipe and put in how many portions it makes. It will say ...
by mummydee on 31 Jan 15 07:25 PM
What can you do when on a cruise with little or no Wi-fi
I depend on your Ap so much every day as I am a insulin dependent diabetic using a pump and have to be able to tell the pump the carbs I eat for each meal in order to be able to adjust my insulin amount. ...
by rkrasnove on 31 Jan 15 03:26 AM
help logging
If I put my foods in on my computer at work it often doubles the entry, it will do that with posts as well sometimes.
by wholefoodnut on 29 Jan 15 04:54 AM
syncing
I downloaded the app to my android phone and entered the day's food and exercise. I then logged in to the website and nothing was saved. What's the malfunction?
by littlechanges on 29 Jan 15 01:37 AM