Scanning Bar Code

previous topic · next topic
debc1246

Joined: Jan 13
Posts: 2

      quote  
Posted: 12 Apr 2013, 15:09
Confused I have downloaded the "Calorie Counter" App onto my Verizon Motorola Droid RAZR M XT907 phone. In the "Calorie Counter" app, I can get to the bar code function and it acts like it is trying to focus and absorb the bar code info but does not complete the function and does not add the information to "My Food". Has anyone else reported having this trouble or am I missing something I am suppose to be doing? Please Help!
Alfred New

Joined: Feb 10
Posts: 1

      quote  
Posted: 23 Jul 2013, 19:13
I am having the same problem.
kkd1125

Joined: Apr 10
Posts: 337

      quote  
Posted: 24 Jul 2013, 15:58
When I have had trouble with the barcode scanner in the past (across both Android and iOS platforms), sometimes I just try the following and it eventually works:

1. moving to where there is much better light
2. making sure there are no wrinkles in the packaging preventing the barcode from being legible
3. try a different angle, perhaps slightly away from you, slightly toward you, side to side, etc. until it reads


If none of the above worked for me, I just enter the food as a "New Food" and enter all of the nutrition information manually.

Hope this helps!



debc1246

Joined: Jan 13
Posts: 2

      quote  
Posted: 25 Jul 2013, 07:06
Thanks for the infoVery Happy
LashawnaF

Joined: Jul 13
Posts: 3

      quote  
Posted: 25 Jul 2013, 09:41
I noticed that the bar code doesn't work on my Droid either. I have been using myfitnesspal as well. The scanner works alot better. I thought that once upon a time the fatsecret app had a a GPS function that would calculate miles walked, but since I have changed phones it dont' see it and can't find an app that will. Any suggestions?
Caroline271

Joined: May 12
Posts: 14

      quote  
Posted: 26 Jul 2013, 16:48
The bar code has given me such bizarre readings that I don't use it. Cheese became yam cake and a quiche some kind of crisps. A good idea but such a waste of time at he moment.
arronlee

Joined: Apr 13
Posts: 10

      quote  
Posted: 13 Sep 2013, 04:30
I have only checked the free trial package of a barcode tool to scan barcode. But I have never employ one. Do you have any recommedations? Thanks in advance.



Forum Search
Advanced forum search



Latest Posts

Fitbit has an open API
rwollard wrote: Okay, so I have a solution that has been working great for me! I track all my food on FS, and at the end of the day get the calorie count. I created a food item on FitBit called Fat Se ...
by hottagain on 25 Feb 15 01:49 PM
Featured Posts/Reent Activity
When I go to MyFatsecret it always comes up with posts in the Recent Activity area from a bunch of people because it defaults to "Featured". I don't need/want to see all this stuff. I ...
by sagebum on 23 Feb 15 01:30 PM
add everydaily meals or activities automatically
Hey, thanks for your great app! How can i add a meal that i'm eating everyday, e.g. 100g oatmeal for breakfast, automatically? Same is for activities e.g. 30 minutes walking everyday?
by ringkali on 23 Feb 15 03:18 AM
Net Carbs
Neil1016, thank you. I got another suggestion from mummydee on how to change it in MY SETTINGS so I will just get the net carbs. Thought you might like the info too :) "When you click on MY FATS ...
by nana of two on 21 Feb 15 07:25 PM
changing profile details
you can't, unless you make a new account
by howzat4u on 19 Feb 15 09:45 PM