Scanning Bar Code

previous topic · next topic
debc1246

Joined: Jan 13
Posts: 2

      quote  
Posted: 12 Apr 2013, 15:09
Confused I have downloaded the "Calorie Counter" App onto my Verizon Motorola Droid RAZR M XT907 phone. In the "Calorie Counter" app, I can get to the bar code function and it acts like it is trying to focus and absorb the bar code info but does not complete the function and does not add the information to "My Food". Has anyone else reported having this trouble or am I missing something I am suppose to be doing? Please Help!
Alfred New

Joined: Feb 10
Posts: 1

      quote  
Posted: 23 Jul 2013, 19:13
I am having the same problem.
kkd1125

Joined: Apr 10
Posts: 337

      quote  
Posted: 24 Jul 2013, 15:58
When I have had trouble with the barcode scanner in the past (across both Android and iOS platforms), sometimes I just try the following and it eventually works:

1. moving to where there is much better light
2. making sure there are no wrinkles in the packaging preventing the barcode from being legible
3. try a different angle, perhaps slightly away from you, slightly toward you, side to side, etc. until it reads


If none of the above worked for me, I just enter the food as a "New Food" and enter all of the nutrition information manually.

Hope this helps!



debc1246

Joined: Jan 13
Posts: 2

      quote  
Posted: 25 Jul 2013, 07:06
Thanks for the infoVery Happy
LashawnaF

Joined: Jul 13
Posts: 3

      quote  
Posted: 25 Jul 2013, 09:41
I noticed that the bar code doesn't work on my Droid either. I have been using myfitnesspal as well. The scanner works alot better. I thought that once upon a time the fatsecret app had a a GPS function that would calculate miles walked, but since I have changed phones it dont' see it and can't find an app that will. Any suggestions?
Caroline271

Joined: May 12
Posts: 14

      quote  
Posted: 26 Jul 2013, 16:48
The bar code has given me such bizarre readings that I don't use it. Cheese became yam cake and a quiche some kind of crisps. A good idea but such a waste of time at he moment.
arronlee

Joined: Apr 13
Posts: 10

      quote  
Posted: 13 Sep 2013, 04:30
I have only checked the free trial package of a barcode tool to scan barcode. But I have never employ one. Do you have any recommedations? Thanks in advance.



Forum Search
Advanced forum search



Latest Posts

Why is my weight not be recorded?
It's immediate. Perhaps you did not scroll down to the bottom of the page to click on the button that records it?
by trackin64 on 30 Jun 16 10:09 AM
Calorie Breakdown on this site
also, when you click on the "day" at the top it will show a week and month total if ever interested...
by Rckc on 25 Jun 16 07:07 AM
My Cookbook issues
Hello there - I have submitted several recipes that I eat frequently. They are all still listed as status pending. What gives? I didn't submit them for sharing. I just want to add them to my ...
by sarajanebear01 on 18 Jun 16 03:03 PM
How do I adjust my macro goals/ RDI goals
Hi there - I can't see anywhere to adjust my goals. I want to enter in my own macro goal %ages or grams, but I can't see it. I can basically change my status from "Sedentary" to ...
by sarajanebear01 on 17 Jun 16 06:14 PM
Track back time of meals
Hi everyone! I am trying to do some analysis on my food consumption and need to see the statistics of my meals timing. Does anybody know if there is any possibility to track it at FatSecret? Thank ...
by Skrobik on 15 Jun 16 10:21 AM