Scanning Bar Code

previous topic · next topic
debc1246

Joined: Jan 13
Posts: 2

      quote  
Posted: 12 Apr 2013, 15:09
Confused I have downloaded the "Calorie Counter" App onto my Verizon Motorola Droid RAZR M XT907 phone. In the "Calorie Counter" app, I can get to the bar code function and it acts like it is trying to focus and absorb the bar code info but does not complete the function and does not add the information to "My Food". Has anyone else reported having this trouble or am I missing something I am suppose to be doing? Please Help!
Alfred New

Joined: Feb 10
Posts: 1

      quote  
Posted: 23 Jul 2013, 19:13
I am having the same problem.
kkd1125

Joined: Apr 10
Posts: 337

      quote  
Posted: 24 Jul 2013, 15:58
When I have had trouble with the barcode scanner in the past (across both Android and iOS platforms), sometimes I just try the following and it eventually works:

1. moving to where there is much better light
2. making sure there are no wrinkles in the packaging preventing the barcode from being legible
3. try a different angle, perhaps slightly away from you, slightly toward you, side to side, etc. until it reads


If none of the above worked for me, I just enter the food as a "New Food" and enter all of the nutrition information manually.

Hope this helps!



debc1246

Joined: Jan 13
Posts: 2

      quote  
Posted: 25 Jul 2013, 07:06
Thanks for the infoVery Happy
LashawnaF

Joined: Jul 13
Posts: 3

      quote  
Posted: 25 Jul 2013, 09:41
I noticed that the bar code doesn't work on my Droid either. I have been using myfitnesspal as well. The scanner works alot better. I thought that once upon a time the fatsecret app had a a GPS function that would calculate miles walked, but since I have changed phones it dont' see it and can't find an app that will. Any suggestions?
Caroline271

Joined: May 12
Posts: 14

      quote  
Posted: 26 Jul 2013, 16:48
The bar code has given me such bizarre readings that I don't use it. Cheese became yam cake and a quiche some kind of crisps. A good idea but such a waste of time at he moment.
arronlee

Joined: Apr 13
Posts: 10

      quote  
Posted: 13 Sep 2013, 04:30
I have only checked the free trial package of a barcode tool to scan barcode. But I have never employ one. Do you have any recommedations? Thanks in advance.



Forum Search
Advanced forum search



Latest Posts

Progress update failure
@pattychaney thank you for the response! Appreciate it :) @wholefoodnut thank you for the suggestion, it worked!
by fmz93 on 03 Feb 16 02:26 PM
Edit a Recipe
I did. You know what is funny, I added another recipe just now and both of them showed up on my page and my new one says I can edit it but yesterday's recipe doesn't give me any options....
by acsez on 03 Feb 16 11:09 AM
Does fatsecret sync with google fit?
@edgerkem I have yet to see anything and the FatSecret people seem rather reluctant to respond to emails or posts regarding this, more's the pity. Sadly it also appears from the blog post screen ...
by mike.mtb on 02 Feb 16 07:49 PM
Bar codes
Anyway to save a barcode scanned item with all the details that you entered on your food diary for today (android app)? When I search for the product after a few weeks on either pc or android phone, the ...
by cookto1 on 01 Feb 16 12:59 PM
Unable to edit nutritional values
Is this information inaccurate or incomplete? Click here to edit. thats what you look for. I usually look online for the product and compare what is in here and then correct it if I am using it. You can ...
by pattychaney on 01 Feb 16 12:44 PM