Scanning Bar Code

previous topic · next topic
debc1246

Joined: Jan 13
Posts: 2

      quote  
Posted: 12 Apr 2013, 15:09
Confused I have downloaded the "Calorie Counter" App onto my Verizon Motorola Droid RAZR M XT907 phone. In the "Calorie Counter" app, I can get to the bar code function and it acts like it is trying to focus and absorb the bar code info but does not complete the function and does not add the information to "My Food". Has anyone else reported having this trouble or am I missing something I am suppose to be doing? Please Help!
Alfred New

Joined: Feb 10
Posts: 1

      quote  
Posted: 23 Jul 2013, 19:13
I am having the same problem.
kkd1125

Joined: Apr 10
Posts: 337

      quote  
Posted: 24 Jul 2013, 15:58
When I have had trouble with the barcode scanner in the past (across both Android and iOS platforms), sometimes I just try the following and it eventually works:

1. moving to where there is much better light
2. making sure there are no wrinkles in the packaging preventing the barcode from being legible
3. try a different angle, perhaps slightly away from you, slightly toward you, side to side, etc. until it reads


If none of the above worked for me, I just enter the food as a "New Food" and enter all of the nutrition information manually.

Hope this helps!



debc1246

Joined: Jan 13
Posts: 2

      quote  
Posted: 25 Jul 2013, 07:06
Thanks for the infoVery Happy
LashawnaF

Joined: Jul 13
Posts: 3

      quote  
Posted: 25 Jul 2013, 09:41
I noticed that the bar code doesn't work on my Droid either. I have been using myfitnesspal as well. The scanner works alot better. I thought that once upon a time the fatsecret app had a a GPS function that would calculate miles walked, but since I have changed phones it dont' see it and can't find an app that will. Any suggestions?
Caroline271

Joined: May 12
Posts: 14

      quote  
Posted: 26 Jul 2013, 16:48
The bar code has given me such bizarre readings that I don't use it. Cheese became yam cake and a quiche some kind of crisps. A good idea but such a waste of time at he moment.
arronlee

Joined: Apr 13
Posts: 10

      quote  
Posted: 13 Sep 2013, 04:30
I have only checked the free trial package of a barcode tool to scan barcode. But I have never employ one. Do you have any recommedations? Thanks in advance.



Forum Search
Advanced forum search



Latest Posts

Set Daily Goals - no change in dashboard?
Same here.
by kamakazi17 on 24 Mar 17 03:07 PM
Is there any way upload a batch of nutrition information?
I'd like to upload the nutrition information for all the meals at KettlebellKitchen, a local meal delivery service I started using. Is there a way to upload this info from a spreadsheet or other file ...
by iencheng on 24 Mar 17 10:49 AM
Most Eaten Entries
It appears that these entries do not get updates. There is several old foods I have not eaten over 6 months. How does most eaten entries get updated? Can I delete these old entries if not replaced with ...
by hoho92649 on 23 Mar 17 12:01 PM
Is there any way to show a simple balance record for my kcal, including sport?
I Would like to know also.? TY Dan
by dannoci on 20 Mar 17 04:32 AM
How do I delete/edit a food I have added to the database?
In response to your question, for more details, if you add a BRANDED food and you want to edit that food entry, just click FOOD - search it in the FOOD SEARCH (right of the screen) - click 'Click here ...
by sabyn2010 on 20 Mar 17 02:16 AM