Scanning Bar Code

previous topic · next topic
debc1246

Joined: Jan 13
Posts: 2

      quote  
Posted: 12 Apr 2013, 15:09
Confused I have downloaded the "Calorie Counter" App onto my Verizon Motorola Droid RAZR M XT907 phone. In the "Calorie Counter" app, I can get to the bar code function and it acts like it is trying to focus and absorb the bar code info but does not complete the function and does not add the information to "My Food". Has anyone else reported having this trouble or am I missing something I am suppose to be doing? Please Help!
Alfred New

Joined: Feb 10
Posts: 1

      quote  
Posted: 23 Jul 2013, 19:13
I am having the same problem.
kkd1125

Joined: Apr 10
Posts: 330

      quote  
Posted: 24 Jul 2013, 15:58
When I have had trouble with the barcode scanner in the past (across both Android and iOS platforms), sometimes I just try the following and it eventually works:

1. moving to where there is much better light
2. making sure there are no wrinkles in the packaging preventing the barcode from being legible
3. try a different angle, perhaps slightly away from you, slightly toward you, side to side, etc. until it reads


If none of the above worked for me, I just enter the food as a "New Food" and enter all of the nutrition information manually.

Hope this helps!



debc1246

Joined: Jan 13
Posts: 2

      quote  
Posted: 25 Jul 2013, 07:06
Thanks for the infoVery Happy
LashawnaF

Joined: Jul 13
Posts: 3

      quote  
Posted: 25 Jul 2013, 09:41
I noticed that the bar code doesn't work on my Droid either. I have been using myfitnesspal as well. The scanner works alot better. I thought that once upon a time the fatsecret app had a a GPS function that would calculate miles walked, but since I have changed phones it dont' see it and can't find an app that will. Any suggestions?
Caroline271

Joined: May 12
Posts: 14

      quote  
Posted: 26 Jul 2013, 16:48
The bar code has given me such bizarre readings that I don't use it. Cheese became yam cake and a quiche some kind of crisps. A good idea but such a waste of time at he moment.
arronlee

Joined: Apr 13
Posts: 10

      quote  
Posted: 13 Sep 2013, 04:30
I have only checked the free trial package of a barcode tool to scan barcode. But I have never employ one. Do you have any recommedations? Thanks in advance.



Forum Search
Advanced forum search



Latest Posts

request: eat part of a dish
You can also enter the ingredients as a meal and then save it. If you don't eat it that day you can always delete it from your food diary after saving it as a meal. I prefer this method to the co ...
by HeyJude602 on 21 Aug 14 03:15 AM
newbie
Hi and welcome. Try googling for 'food macros' - here's a suggested site. http://ontheregimen.com/2013/1... I'm on low carb diet, so I'm trying to keep my carbs well under 20%, ...
by nb girl on 20 Aug 14 11:43 PM
We used to be able to print reports...is that option gone?
Thanks, Vickie! I didn't come back here to see your answer (oops) but I just now stumbled upon the reports option you describe. I wasn't expecting it to be under a button with a printer on i ...
by DianaBanana on 20 Aug 14 12:45 PM
Feature Request:
it would be really nice to have The custom columns on "my food diary" be able to show the percentage of your recommended intake limits for each thing based on the diet your are subscribing to. ...
by MurderMostFowl on 19 Aug 14 10:41 AM
Mobile APP question
nb girl wrote: Hi - I used my FS username. Hope that works :-) Sorry, I deleted my post. I got tired trying to get the App to work right, so I un-installed it.
by leontaylor1 on 16 Aug 14 05:14 PM