previous topic · next topic
djncpb

Joined: Oct 12
Posts: 5

      quote  
Posted: 15 Feb 2013, 04:04
Hi all, I hope all is going well with the diets. In an attempt to add more fibre to my diet I use a lot of brans. I have tried to add to the database, following the manufacturers nutritional values. On 'toasted soya bran' the listing says 7.9g Carbs and 60g Fibre. But the database will not allow me to enter the data like this saying 'fibre cannot be greater than the value for carbs' I want to be accurate with my postings so my question is - do I need to add the fibre to the carb value to get 'total carbs' then list fibre as per manufacurer's listing? I have a few more 'high fibre' listings to make but want to be accurate!

FrostyLady

Joined: Dec 09
Posts: 366

      quote  
Posted: 15 Feb 2013, 07:58
It is already in database under this: Neal's Yard Wholefood

Toasted soya bran.
djncpb

Joined: Oct 12
Posts: 5

      quote  
Posted: 15 Feb 2013, 08:04
Many thanks but it was the one I put in today.
liv001

Joined: Oct 09
Posts: 676

      quote  
Posted: 15 Feb 2013, 08:42
If you use a foreign label then that is probably waht you have to do. In North America Total carbs is always the sugar/starch carbs AND the fiber carbs. So that means fiber will never be greater than totla carbs.
djncpb

Joined: Oct 12
Posts: 5

      quote  
Posted: 15 Feb 2013, 11:05
thanks for that. It is the same in the UK (normally). I think it may be a 'trick' to make it appear healthier!



Forum Search
Advanced forum search


Latest Posts

fitness tips
Brilliant, I have a stack of podcasts on CD a friend burns for me that I have yet to listen to. Now to invest in some portable tech, I still have a flip phone. All good ideas. I have trouble finding ...
by davisrick1 on 19 Oct 17 01:42 PM
Calories from fat.
Well .. the labels never had calories from protein or carbs either.. just grams .. but the rationale given on the fda site seems odd to me: "Calories are now in larger and bolder type and Calories ...
by rhills on 19 Oct 17 12:36 PM
Finally Breaking the Plateau
Finally beginning to show some progress and get under the 182-183 plateau i have been stuck at. Eating more hard boiled eggs in place of 1 or 2 meals a day and switched to putting protein powder in my ...
by scottandmeg on 19 Oct 17 08:42 AM
how to change initial weight
On fatsecret.com, that option is in the right hand column on the page where you track your weight. I'm not sure about the mobile app.
by rhills on 19 Oct 17 03:30 AM
FS food calculator
Paubut, i record everything for two reasons, if the weight isnt coming off I can look back and see what I can adjust. Secondly Holds me accountable. I don't plan on falling I've had enough of ...
by 8Patty on 18 Oct 17 12:29 PM