previous topic · next topic

Joined: Jan 13
Posts: 2

Posted: 15 Jan 2013, 12:59
I would like to know if there is a way to put in all the ingredients of a meal (i.e. spaghetti) and then be able to break that up into portions so that it will take a fraction of the total calories instead of trying to figure it all out on your own.

For example:
Spaghetti is made with 1 pound of hamburger, 1 can of tomato paste, 1 can of tomato soup and 1 package of McCormick Thick and Zesty sauce mix. I entered this and found that it is a total of 1700+ calories which is good, but I am not eating the whole thing at once.

Any help would be wonderful!

Joined: Jan 11
Posts: 35

Posted: 15 Jan 2013, 13:03
You could add it as a recipe under My Cook Book. Then, it will be avaialable under your cook book to add the next time you eat it.

Joined: Nov 11
Posts: 810

Posted: 15 Jan 2013, 14:48
Yep, exactly what danihyde said. When you enter it as a recipe, it asks you how many servings it will make. So if that amount of pasta/sauce typically makes 6 servings, then that's what you enter. Then you can just adjust your serving size in your food diary if you eat more/less than a "typical" serving that day.

Someone who is busier than you is working out right now.
There will come a day when you can no longer do this. Today is not that day.

Joined: Jan 13
Posts: 2

Posted: 29 Jan 2013, 20:47
Thank you!

Joined: Nov 12
Posts: 41

Posted: 30 Jan 2013, 10:36
Yea, the recipe feature is fantastic. When I made a big pot of chili, it was so easy to add in the cans of beans plus other ingredients.

When done cooking, I measured it into separatete Tupperwarere dishes for storage, using a measuring cup. With a real count on the total volume, it was simple to set the servings size to one cup and have the correct nutrition info.
Goal 1 - Run half marathon in early June (run not walk)
Goal 2 - Drop 100 lbs total before my birthday in late June

Joined: Jan 13
Posts: 23

Posted: 01 Feb 2013, 13:46
What a great concept! My husband make me a low carb soup but I was just saying this morning that I wished I knew what exactly he put into it so I could somehow figure my carbs. Awesome!

Forum Search
Advanced forum search

Latest Posts

There is a snack area but other than the 3 meals and snacks no you cannot add
by wholefoodnut on 25 Nov 15 11:56 AM
Macro #'s
Hi Everyone, I have a question are we able to change the Macro #'s or is it just the Calories daily intake that can be changed. Thank you for all your help.
by Natty40 on 24 Nov 15 11:36 AM
Setting Custom Macro goals?
Looking to get the same question answered
by vadimperetokin on 21 Nov 15 11:10 PM
Change Language
FarSecret wrote: Hi there, Unfortunately there is no way to change the language through the app. The app will be set to the same as your device is. FatSecret This is utter BS from a software developer ...
by mihai83 on 21 Nov 15 06:17 AM
Google Fit
I hope they fix it soon because they are listed as compatible with the new Google Fit update on the Official Android blog. It still isn't working for me. The second it is working I am transferring ...
by jadenq on 19 Nov 15 06:41 PM