Food database & brands

previous topic · next topic

Joined: Feb 12
Posts: 2

Posted: 04 Mar 2012, 11:11
I am using the fatsecret site and ipad app and I am based in the UK. I find the site and app very useful. However, I have noticed that the site does not list the same brands and superstores as the iPad for the UK. e.g. the site does not list Aunt Bessie's, but iPad does. The site seems to be listing american brands, where as the iPad is listing UK brands.

Is there anything wrong with the configuration of my account or is this just the way it is at the momment? I have selected UK in my account info.

Many thanks for any response.

Joined: Sep 06
Posts: 71

Posted: 08 Mar 2012, 00:05
Please try FatSecret UK

Joined: Jun 09
Posts: 155

Posted: 08 Mar 2012, 06:08
Oh my did I never know there was a UK site?!

Question - if I switch my account to UK membership, will I still have access to all the same groups, challenges, buddies, etc? Does it make me restart my diet? Is it just the foods that it changes?

You can also find me on facebook, where I share my recipes and lifestyle changes

Real Food Recipes:


Joined: Dec 11
Posts: 105

Posted: 08 Mar 2012, 06:29
I do have the same "problem" with switzerland. all foods on this website are american foods and brands. but it's okay for me, because my BB is able to get the food from switzerland. when i go to i come to - so there is no other possibility.

Sheonamcc: you can switch as much as you like. i travel a lot and i was in the US for 2 weeks. so i switched my phone from swiss to US and that was all. no restart of your diet and you still have access to all buddies and challenges. i don't know if it works the same way by changing to the uk website, but i think, you won't lose anything.

Joined: Mar 12
Posts: 2

Posted: 08 Mar 2012, 12:07
I live in Belgium and a lot of the supermarket own brand products are not in the database when I scan the barcodes.
I would be happy to enter the data and match it to a barcode scan so everyone gets to benefit. Is there a way of doing that?

Joined: Nov 11
Posts: 5

Posted: 10 Mar 2012, 09:05
I live in Portugal and i say the same, it appears that my local brands are only in the android app database and not in the WWW site database.. why? aren't they supposed to be the same?

Forum Search
Advanced forum search

Latest Posts

Hesap Silme
Hesabımı silmek istiyorum
by sirkadiyenritim on 20 Mar 18 08:25 AM
Anyway to create recipe in My cookbook with the Android App?
This is a massive hole in functionality. My need is to create custom recipes for very specific diet restrictions. This basically makes most of the publicly available recipes unavailable to me. I rely ...
by cydiet22 on 19 Mar 18 08:10 PM
Sync iphone and Website data
by hearttonic on 15 Mar 18 08:57 AM
Need to add 6 meals a day
That's what i do. I eat 6 times a day with 3 meals and 3 snacks. I just put all my snacks into snacks/other. But it would be nice if FS would let you add each snack individually.
by crstlgls on 11 Mar 18 03:55 PM
How many times can you post the same phone number?
Somebody posted the same Amazon phone number many times. I have to go through many pages of forums to get to the good ones. You only need to post the number once.
by crstlgls on 11 Mar 18 01:00 PM

Member Tip

average member ranking
by member Darkangeline
Cheese is NOT it's own food group, Although personally I think it should be. :)
13 Jan 12 for diet Calorie Count