Food database & brands

previous topic · next topic
jamesceri

Joined: Feb 12
Posts: 2

      quote  
Posted: 04 Mar 2012, 11:11
I am using the fatsecret site and ipad app and I am based in the UK. I find the site and app very useful. However, I have noticed that the site does not list the same brands and superstores as the iPad for the UK. e.g. the site does not list Aunt Bessie's, but iPad does. The site seems to be listing american brands, where as the iPad is listing UK brands.

Is there anything wrong with the configuration of my account or is this just the way it is at the momment? I have selected UK in my account info.

Many thanks for any response.
jamesceri
FatSecret

Joined: Sep 06
Posts: 71

      quote  
Posted: 08 Mar 2012, 00:05
Please try FatSecret UK
Sheonamcc

Joined: Jun 09
Posts: 155

      quote  
Posted: 08 Mar 2012, 06:08
Oh my goodness...how did I never know there was a UK site?!

Question - if I switch my account to UK membership, will I still have access to all the same groups, challenges, buddies, etc? Does it make me restart my diet? Is it just the foods that it changes?

¸.·´¯`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸

You can also find me on facebook, where I share my recipes and lifestyle changes

Real Food Recipes: http://on.fb.me/VGwgH5

¸.·´¯`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸
joelae

Joined: Dec 11
Posts: 105

      quote  
Posted: 08 Mar 2012, 06:29
I do have the same "problem" with switzerland. all foods on this website are american foods and brands. but it's okay for me, because my BB is able to get the food from switzerland. when i go to fatsecret.ch i come to fatsecret.com - so there is no other possibility.

Sheonamcc: you can switch as much as you like. i travel a lot and i was in the US for 2 weeks. so i switched my phone from swiss to US and that was all. no restart of your diet and you still have access to all buddies and challenges. i don't know if it works the same way by changing to the uk website, but i think, you won't lose anything.
earthsea

Joined: Mar 12
Posts: 2

      quote  
Posted: 08 Mar 2012, 12:07
I live in Belgium and a lot of the supermarket own brand products are not in the fatsecret.com database when I scan the barcodes.
I would be happy to enter the data and match it to a barcode scan so everyone gets to benefit. Is there a way of doing that?
JMS74

Joined: Nov 11
Posts: 5

      quote  
Posted: 10 Mar 2012, 09:05
I live in Portugal and i say the same, it appears that my local brands are only in the android app database and not in the WWW site database.. why? aren't they supposed to be the same?




Forum Search
Advanced forum search



Latest Posts

Google Fit
Downloading loseit, thanks for the info.
by Andy Sharp on 02 Jul 15 07:44 AM
Adding a new food with the Iphone Ap
How do you add a new food to the master list from your Iphone? I am using Iphone 5 and can't find anything that lets me add new foods.
by Irene1955 on 01 Jul 15 12:41 PM
Caloric Breakdown
I'm talking about the breakdown in the pie chart in the bottom right hand corner of the screen when you are in the food under "my diet calendar" - even when your columns are set to net carbs ...
by CBell1982 on 29 Jun 15 06:48 PM
How do I remove a journal entry ?
If you click on my fatsecret up at the top then go to my journal over on the right side. This will show a list of all your journal entries. Scroll down to the one you want to remove. Don't click on ...
by gkcfm95 on 27 Jun 15 09:08 AM
how to put up pics especcially profile pic
If you go to the my fatsecret tab up at the top then on the right side under my toolbox is my image. You can upload a pic there.
by gkcfm95 on 27 Jun 15 09:01 AM

Member Tip

average member ranking
by member Darkangeline
Cheese is NOT it's own food group, Although personally I think it should be. :)
13 Jan 12 for diet Calorie Count