Foods not in database

previous topic · next topic
bossmanham

Joined: Jan 12
Posts: 3

      quote  
Posted: 13 Jan 2012, 19:54
Hey all. Any tips on how to record foods not found in database? IE made from scratch, bought at a locally owned restaurant, etc. I'm finding it difficult sometimes to find something close and match it up, or to make a guess.
Ingria

Joined: Oct 11
Posts: 532

      quote  
Posted: 13 Jan 2012, 20:19
After trying many different ways to do it, I found that the easiest way, is to find similar dish on FS, eyeball the quantity (weight it if you can, or measure) and log it. It is better to guesstimate, than stop logging at all. If you have time and cook from scratch, you can weight the ingredients, calculate the calorie value of the whole dish, and then enter the portion you ate. I use nutritiondata.com to enter and save my recipes. Any way there is no foolproof way to log in food you had in a restaurant. Some of the chain restaurants have their menus published with calories in every dish, but I do not eat in chain restaurants. You were also interested in entering food from local restaurants, so that is not an option.
~~~~~~~~~~
The first thing you lose on a diet is your sense of humor. ~ Author Unknown
It doesn’t matter what diet you follow… What matters is what makes you follow your diet. ~ Tom Venuto
DebCinIL

Joined: Mar 11
Posts: 75

      quote  
Posted: 13 Jan 2012, 20:26
If I'm cooking from scratch I put my recipe in my FS cookbook. If you make it private (no sharing) you can always go back in and edit it. If you share you can't. When you want to add it to your food journal just go to the recipe and select "add to diet calendar".
I am not on a diet - I have changed the way I eat.
sizzlingtriu...

Joined: Oct 09
Posts: 2

      quote  
Posted: 13 Jan 2012, 23:04
I find it very difficult to accurately enter and gauge my calories too. My husband cooks almost everything from scratch. I do the highest calories for the most similar food I feel my biggest challenge is the portion size. My next step is to get a scale and measure my food for more accuracy.
dragonsofros...

Joined: Nov 11
Posts: 57

      quote  
Posted: 14 Jan 2012, 00:41
I use the recipe calculator as I love to cook at home. You plug in your ingredients and how many servings it makes (you'll know if you've made it a few times ... my general rule of thumb for soups or pasta dishes is a Cup is a serving) and it'll give you how many calories are in a serving of whatever you're making. I love it for homemade pizza and things of that sort. Way fewer calories than eating out ... and less expensive!

Here's the link:
http://recipes.sparkpeople.com/recipe-calculator.asp
.





Like/Write poetry? Check out The Poet Sanctuary!
http://www.thepoetsanctuary.net or http://www.thepoetsanctuary.org
-----------------------------------------------



Forum Search
Advanced forum search



Latest Posts

Healthy Snacks
Do you have any grocery stores over there that cater to Hispanic customers? If so - you may find jicama there. Good luck! And yes...almonds are awesome!
by Jannabelle on 06 Oct 14 11:13 AM
shake meal replacement
I am with Glaun and Wholefoodnut, I use to use Isopure Whey Protein Isolate - good if you think you need a boost in protein - but any whole, real, food will keep you fuller, longer. Fage 0% Greek Yogurt ...
by br_e_co on 03 Oct 14 07:42 AM
Grain-Free Cauliflower Crust Pizza (YES - I SAID PIZZA!)
I should be clearer about portion size. I wound up with a "pie" about 10". I ate four (4) portions or 1/2 of the "pie" as 1 meal (Dinner) in a 1000 Cal or under day. I logged ...
by Zeddie274 on 29 Sep 14 02:00 PM
Looking for a Healthy type of cookie biscuit to make or buy
I make quinoa breakfast bars full of nuts and seeds and whatever dried fruits I crave at the moment. The whole cookie sheet is sweetened with just 1/4 cup of honey so no biggy on the individual piece. ...
by mummydee on 27 Sep 14 04:12 AM
Enter A Food not Listed
How to enter a food not listed? For example catfish nuggets from Kroger. Do I substitute another members entry, at that point it cant be changed or edited for my account, also the UPC code has no place ...
by ValueShopper on 21 Sep 14 09:47 PM