Calorie Breakdown

previous topic · next topic
doublecheese

Joined: Dec 13
Posts: 23

      quote  
Posted: 29 Dec 2013, 04:03
If I had 22g fat, 51g of carbs, and 19g of protein, how come the calorie breakdown looks like this?



Shouldn't it be like this?

bittiq

Joined: May 13
Posts: 4

      quote  
Posted: 29 Dec 2013, 04:31
I understand why you would think that, however the chart is not graphing your macronutrients in grams. It's charting them in calories. Since carbs and protein have 4 calories per gram and fats have 9 calories per gram, the chart is actually illustrating 204 calories from carbs, 198 calories from fats, and 76 calories from protein. When simplified into percentages, these come out to what is shown in the chart.
doublecheese

Joined: Dec 13
Posts: 23

      quote  
Posted: 29 Dec 2013, 04:36
Ah okay! Thanks, I was so confused, haha. Razz
bittiq

Joined: May 13
Posts: 4

      quote  
Posted: 29 Dec 2013, 05:01
No problem!
euheide

Joined: Nov 12
Posts: 6

      quote  
Posted: 02 Jan 2014, 21:07
Great point by Doublecheese. I also wondered about that some time ago but didn't bother looking for the answer lol. And great answer by Bittiq! Very interesting. Didn't know that! Now that graph makes more sense to me lol.



Forum Search
Advanced forum search



Latest Posts

barcode scanner giving me the wrong items
I think this has to do with the database and it stinks because there is no getting around it. THis has happened to me twice. I put in some pork rinds and I got cheese!
by mrsmole on 24 Oct 14 09:10 AM
Input my meals to the wrong day - easiest/quickest way to copy them to correct day?
This happened to me by mistake the other day - there is a way to copy the entire eating day somehow to another day, but since I had accidentally switched two days, I just decided to leave them that way ...
by mrsmole on 24 Oct 14 09:07 AM
Can you change the Rest and Sleep calorie burn?
I don't think that there's a way to do that unfortunately. I just assume that the values for calories burned are a little high for most activities and take that into consideration with the amount ...
by bri293 on 23 Oct 14 09:12 AM
Custom Food list
Is there a way to even just see a full list of your custom foods?
by sirvanderlaan on 21 Oct 14 05:43 AM
iOS 8
Hi Fatsecret Team, I use the USA version and can't use the barcode scan with my iphone 4S which I have updated to the IOS8. It is something I really use. Hope there is a fix soon.
by Patchup2 on 20 Oct 14 10:39 AM