Calorie Breakdown

previous topic · next topic
doublecheese

Joined: Dec 13
Posts: 23

      quote  
Posted: 29 Dec 2013, 04:03
If I had 22g fat, 51g of carbs, and 19g of protein, how come the calorie breakdown looks like this?



Shouldn't it be like this?

bittiq

Joined: May 13
Posts: 5

      quote  
Posted: 29 Dec 2013, 04:31
I understand why you would think that, however the chart is not graphing your macronutrients in grams. It's charting them in calories. Since carbs and protein have 4 calories per gram and fats have 9 calories per gram, the chart is actually illustrating 204 calories from carbs, 198 calories from fats, and 76 calories from protein. When simplified into percentages, these come out to what is shown in the chart.
doublecheese

Joined: Dec 13
Posts: 23

      quote  
Posted: 29 Dec 2013, 04:36
Ah okay! Thanks, I was so confused, haha. Razz
bittiq

Joined: May 13
Posts: 5

      quote  
Posted: 29 Dec 2013, 05:01
No problem!
euheide

Joined: Nov 12
Posts: 6

      quote  
Posted: 02 Jan 2014, 21:07
Great point by Doublecheese. I also wondered about that some time ago but didn't bother looking for the answer lol. And great answer by Bittiq! Very interesting. Didn't know that! Now that graph makes more sense to me lol.



Forum Search
Advanced forum search



Latest Posts

[Complaining] Recently Eaten sucks and how to copy a meal?
I don't use the app, just the website, even on my phone so if you are on the app I don't know those features.
by abbadabba on 24 Jun 18 09:27 AM
New to Fat Secret
Hello, I am new to FS and am trying to enter foods. Do I have to enter in grams? I'm trying to enter 3/4 Cup.
by RetroRose on 22 Jun 18 01:39 PM
COOKBOOK - Why did you delete the "SERVING SIZE in GRAMS"?
I found how to work it now... For recipes, under SERVINGS, input either 1 or actual weight of recipe after cooking (this has a drawback since the limit for the serving option is 1-999). So if your recipe ...
by Olympic Weightlifter on 22 Jun 18 10:51 AM
New weight does not save
Hi, Are you using an APP or Desktop/Laptop? If App - Click on WEIGHT at the bottom, then click on Starting Weight and change it using -/+, you can also change goal weight as well. If Laptop/Desktop ...
by Olympic Weightlifter on 22 Jun 18 08:21 AM
Calories to kilojoules
Hi, Open the app. 1. Click on 3 horizontal lines in the TOP LEFT corner of the app. 2. Click on SETTINGS. 3. Scroll down to GENERAL section. 4. Click on Energy Unit, input Kilojoules. Regards
by Olympic Weightlifter on 22 Jun 18 07:43 AM