Calorie Breakdown

previous topic · next topic
doublecheese

Joined: Dec 13
Posts: 23

      quote  
Posted: 29 Dec 2013, 04:03
If I had 22g fat, 51g of carbs, and 19g of protein, how come the calorie breakdown looks like this?



Shouldn't it be like this?

bittiq

Joined: May 13
Posts: 5

      quote  
Posted: 29 Dec 2013, 04:31
I understand why you would think that, however the chart is not graphing your macronutrients in grams. It's charting them in calories. Since carbs and protein have 4 calories per gram and fats have 9 calories per gram, the chart is actually illustrating 204 calories from carbs, 198 calories from fats, and 76 calories from protein. When simplified into percentages, these come out to what is shown in the chart.
doublecheese

Joined: Dec 13
Posts: 23

      quote  
Posted: 29 Dec 2013, 04:36
Ah okay! Thanks, I was so confused, haha. Razz
bittiq

Joined: May 13
Posts: 5

      quote  
Posted: 29 Dec 2013, 05:01
No problem!
euheide

Joined: Nov 12
Posts: 6

      quote  
Posted: 02 Jan 2014, 21:07
Great point by Doublecheese. I also wondered about that some time ago but didn't bother looking for the answer lol. And great answer by Bittiq! Very interesting. Didn't know that! Now that graph makes more sense to me lol.



Forum Search
Advanced forum search



Latest Posts

Set Daily Goals - no change in dashboard?
Same here.
by kamakazi17 on 24 Mar 17 03:07 PM
Is there any way upload a batch of nutrition information?
I'd like to upload the nutrition information for all the meals at KettlebellKitchen, a local meal delivery service I started using. Is there a way to upload this info from a spreadsheet or other file ...
by iencheng on 24 Mar 17 10:49 AM
Most Eaten Entries
It appears that these entries do not get updates. There is several old foods I have not eaten over 6 months. How does most eaten entries get updated? Can I delete these old entries if not replaced with ...
by hoho92649 on 23 Mar 17 12:01 PM
Is there any way to show a simple balance record for my kcal, including sport?
I Would like to know also.? TY Dan
by dannoci on 20 Mar 17 04:32 AM
How do I delete/edit a food I have added to the database?
In response to your question, for more details, if you add a BRANDED food and you want to edit that food entry, just click FOOD - search it in the FOOD SEARCH (right of the screen) - click 'Click here ...
by sabyn2010 on 20 Mar 17 02:16 AM