previous topic · next topic

Joined: Jan 13
Posts: 2

Posted: 15 Jan 2013, 12:59
I would like to know if there is a way to put in all the ingredients of a meal (i.e. spaghetti) and then be able to break that up into portions so that it will take a fraction of the total calories instead of trying to figure it all out on your own.

For example:
Spaghetti is made with 1 pound of hamburger, 1 can of tomato paste, 1 can of tomato soup and 1 package of McCormick Thick and Zesty sauce mix. I entered this and found that it is a total of 1700+ calories which is good, but I am not eating the whole thing at once.

Any help would be wonderful!

Joined: Jan 11
Posts: 35

Posted: 15 Jan 2013, 13:03
You could add it as a recipe under My Cook Book. Then, it will be avaialable under your cook book to add the next time you eat it.

Joined: Nov 11
Posts: 810

Posted: 15 Jan 2013, 14:48
Yep, exactly what danihyde said. When you enter it as a recipe, it asks you how many servings it will make. So if that amount of pasta/sauce typically makes 6 servings, then that's what you enter. Then you can just adjust your serving size in your food diary if you eat more/less than a "typical" serving that day.

Someone who is busier than you is working out right now.
There will come a day when you can no longer do this. Today is not that day.

Joined: Jan 13
Posts: 2

Posted: 29 Jan 2013, 20:47
Thank you!

Joined: Nov 12
Posts: 41

Posted: 30 Jan 2013, 10:36
Yea, the recipe feature is fantastic. When I made a big pot of chili, it was so easy to add in the cans of beans plus other ingredients.

When done cooking, I measured it into separatete Tupperwarere dishes for storage, using a measuring cup. With a real count on the total volume, it was simple to set the servings size to one cup and have the correct nutrition info.
Goal 1 - Run half marathon in early June (run not walk)
Goal 2 - Drop 100 lbs total before my birthday in late June

Joined: Jan 13
Posts: 23

Posted: 01 Feb 2013, 13:46
What a great concept! My husband make me a low carb soup but I was just saying this morning that I wished I knew what exactly he put into it so I could somehow figure my carbs. Awesome!

Forum Search
Advanced forum search

Latest Posts

Can't change my Settings. Keeps saying Password confirmation required.
Seems to be related to Firefox ver 42. Works fine with Microsoft Edge, believe it or not.
by Mikefitz4113 on 01 Dec 15 09:35 AM
Weight loss ticker
I think the ticker is an option when you weigh in, but I can't remember for sure.
by FatGirlJenny on 01 Dec 15 08:10 AM
Nutrition Facts for my entire day?
If you go the area of "My Settings" on the right hand side, you can change what is shown...scroll to the bottom of that page! ;)
by Non1953 on 30 Nov 15 02:19 PM
Barcode scanner not working
I wonder whether the I am testing these days can help you with that?
by evanpan on 30 Nov 15 07:37 AM
Getting started
i just use the phone app of fatsecret and scan in barcodes as l eat food, or maybe jot down on paper what you have eaten during the day and add it in later when you get a quiet time.
by chobbzy on 28 Nov 15 04:45 PM